Total Pageviews

Thursday, March 26, 2026

Rant #3,912: Hunky Dory



I have been through Step 1 of hell.

And then, I went through Step 2.

There are more steps to come.

My kidneys were messed up, and I didn't know it.

I had two stones--one in each kidney--and if they stayed in there any longer, I might have lost the use of my kidneys.

This, of course, could lead to dialysis and other problems.

So they had to come out.

Now.

One major stone was left in--it could not be removed, and in time, i might be able to pass it or it can be removed in a non-surgical procedure.

So as you read this, I am a bit of a mess.

I won't go into detail, but it is better that I stay at home for at least a couple of days.

Again, I knew nothing, felt nothing, but everything came up in a catscan.

I have passed a few stones before, and the one or two times I had a problem, it went away immediately once the stones came out.

Not this time.

And over the next month, I have to have tests fir my lung and my colon and my eye, so I am far from out of the woods yet.

But the first mountain has been scaled.

I have a good family, so they will get me through this.

I might be in and out of here for the next few weeks, but I will try to post things here and there for probably the foreseeable future.

So please bear with me.

I am overwhelmed, overloaded, but not defeated.

I can handle it.

Thanks for the good wishes.



Saturday, March 21, 2026

Rant #3,911: Undun



This is going to be a very difficult Rant to put together for you, but I feel that it is my duty to get it done.

I had several doctors' appointments last week, and none of them were good.

Without going into great detail, even though I feel fine, I am not doing well health-wise.

I am going to need a number of procedures done to make me healthy again.

I had a catscan on my lung, because something untoward came up in a previous catscan. I soon have to go and get other tests to make sure that that part of my body is OK.

I have some more cancer on my head, so I got it removed, and hopefully, i won't have to go through the staples thing again.

I have some urological troubles, and they must be taken care of sooner rather than later. I am getting that surgical procedure done On Monday morning, in a local hospital, and I am very nervous about it.

Then I have to get a colonoscopy, where I am hopeful that what is found can be taken care of. And let me tell you, due to circumstances beyond my control, I am scheduled to have this procedure done--

On my birthday, April 28.

And I still have the partially detached retina in my eye, which isn't going away anytime soon.

Again, I am not going into details right now, but if you break it all down, it isn't anything good.

Not good at all ... as the "C word" is a possibility.

As I approach my 69th birthday next month, I am a broken person.

My body is failing me.

Maybe I shouldn't complain, since for more than 60 years, my body gave me little to no problems.

I had my gall bladder removed on my 50th birthday, but honestly, that was it.

However, for the past three or so years, my body has taken a downward plunge.

I don't know for sure if it has to do with aging, or things had been brewing for years and no one knew it, but things are absolutely not too good right now.

And again, I feel fine; a minor ache or pain here or there, but nothing to suggest what I am facing.

What i am facing is not just a broken body but also an empty pocketbook, because insurance will only pay for so much, and my money us being drained by all if these doctors' visits and procedures that i need.

Let me add that I am not giving up on work.

I told the team I work with all about this the other afternoon, and they were very supportive.

I let them know that I will still be supplying material for them on a daily basis, but that I am going to have to step back from the bigger things, like covering meetings and conventions and the like.

I told them that I still want to be in the loop, and to not forget about me--

Because I might be down and out, but I am not done just yet.

And let's be honest about it--

I desperately need the money.

The same thing goes for the Blog.

I am not giving it up, period.

Maybe some days I might not post anything as all these things are coming up, but I simply will not give it up.

So you will continue to see content at the Blog as we push to Rant #4,000 later this year.

Writing is my salvation.

It makes me feel good, takes away my worries for a little while, and actually, keeps me healthy, so the Ranting and Raving Blog will live on.

You can count on that.

And I will too.

"A mere bag of shells ... ."

Not really, but let's just say that all of this, all at once, is a bit of a speed bump in the road.

Friday, March 20, 2026

Rant #3,910: Summer Is Fun



Springtime is in the air ...

Yes, I know that just three weeks ago, we had a blizzard that dropped two feet of snow in my neck of the woods, and we continue to experience frigid temperatures--and continued threats of more of the white stuff--here and there.

But today, spring actually begins--

Which actually means that the winter isn't really over yet, even if it is actually spring.

I sit here typing this, and I see my original Yankee Stadium chair right behind me, sitting in front of the air conditioner we have in the room.

Its placement is kind of an irony in and of itself, as it sits in front of something--and is itself something--that one doesn't need to use during the cold weather months.

I brought it inside from our terrace because I didn't want this chair to experience the cold, the snow and everything else that the winter brings us.

It is sitting here, but within due time, it will be brought outside again to our terrace, and when the really warm weather comes, I hope to plunk my tuckis right on the seat and enjoy the warm weather after a pretty bad winter.

And since this is a seat that formerly was used in a baseball stadium, you just know that the warmer weather is coming because the proverbial "Boys of Summer" are coming, too.

The World Baseball Classic, the very phony and artificial "international" tournament which interrupts spring training every couple of years, is finally over and done with, and players are getting back to their normal routines to prepare for the regular season.

This tournament is so genuinely nonsense; all I have to do to explain that is that if I were a professional baseball player, I could not only play for the U.S. team, I could play for the Israeli team, and if they had them, the Russian team, the Latvian team, the Polish team--

Based on my family background and heritage.

A tournament that is designed to bring baseball to non-baseball countries has teams from those countries--like Italy and Israel--that are manned by American baseball players whose heritage allows them to play for these non-U.S. teams.

I just find the whole thing a waste of time, something that no one gives a hoot about once it is over.

But now it is over, and REAL baseball is set to begin next week.

Thank goodness for that!

And again, even a hint of baseball suggests that winter is over, spring is here, and ...

Summer is right around the corner.

So I look at my Yankee Stadium chair, and I know it is misplaced in this room.

It needs to be out on the terrace, in the hot sun, representing that not only is the baseball season ready to begin, but that summer is coming.

And summer is fun--

I can't wait.

Have a great weekend, and I will speak to you again next week.

Batter up!

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Rant #3,909: Pay the Piper



Tests, tests and more tests ...

I hated them as a student in school--from kindergarten through graduate school--and I hate them now--as an adult through medical exams.

I have had them this week, I will have them next week, and every new week brings new health tests.

Not only is it taxing on my psyche, it is taxing on my pocketbook.

When you are forced to use Medicare as your only source of health insurance, you are getting near the bottom of the barrel for coverage.

It is a step above Medicaid, but when you really look at it, it is not a giant step above it, just a small step.

Unless you are wealthy and can invest a lot of money in your plan to keep costs down, you are stuck with a plan that doesn't cover that much and where the co-pays are astronomical.

And if you are sick and/or you need constant testing, well, you are outta luck.

Your pocketbook is going to be taking a hit--

Mine has, for sure.

My deductibles are high because that is all I can afford with my measly Social Security and wages.

So for certain things, I have to pay a high price for coverage.

I found that out the other day related to my latest catscan, which I will be taking today.

I received a text to pre-register for my visit to the radiology office, and after I completed everything, I found that they were charging me four times as much for this particular catscan as for any other I have ever taken.

I quickly questioned this over the phone, but every operator I spoke to had no explanation, other than it was related to my deductible, and even though the price was high, it could actually be even higher if they went strictly by the deductible.

I called both the radiology center and my insurance company, and I all I got from them were non-explanations about why this time, the catscan price was four times as high as normal.

After about two hours of this, I was instructed to contact my doctor's office, and find out what code they put in for this particular catscan--was it a "chronic" code--which would lead to a lower, and normal for me, price, or the "catscan" code, which would lead to the higher price.

Just imagine what I went through when I contacted my doctor. They must have though I sounded like a real idiot about this--

And they, too, passed the buck, telling me that they were going to contact the radiology center where I was to get the catscan, and they would contact me about an explanation--

Which they did.

I spoke to the office administrator at the center, who offered me the real reason why I was being charged four times as much for this catscan as compared to any other I have recently had.

According to her, most radiology places charge patients an initial lower price for the catscan in person, but then a followup bill is sent to the person later on to account for the other money owed for the catscan.

So, according to her, those getting catscans generally pay twice for the procedure--once while at the office, and another time with a bill sent through the mail.

The difference this time is that this radiology center--which I have never been to--doesn't do that, preferring to collect all monies owed by the patient up front and right then and there.

No second bills, the bill is paid in full at the time of your visit.

Yes, they will accept partial payment at the time of visit, but you will have to eventually pay the remainder of what you owe at another time.

Thinking of my other recent catscans, I honestly don't remember getting a second bill for any of them, but maybe I have and didn't realize that it was for this reason.

I will have to check my check register ...

But funny, I don't remember a single catscan resulting in another bill.

Maybe it would come months later, months after the catscan, so perhaps I will be getting bills in the mail in the coming days or months, but let me tell you, I have yet to receive any of them--

And I don't ever remember getting a second bill for a catscan.

But so be it.

This is the way this place does it, so I am just going to have to live with it--

And pay for the bill down the line.

Health insurance has changed drastically over the years, with costs rising as more of us live to ripe old ages.

A high percentage of our money goes for health costs, and it is getting worse each and every year.

I guess that now, at age 68 with age 69 right around the corner, I am in that category, where personal health costs are spiraling out of control.

My advice to anyone is to get the best health plan that you can afford once you have to use Medicare, or keep your old plan once you retire if it is part of your benefits/retirement package.

You aren't going to get a very good plan out of Medicare, take it from me.

And as they take my money from me, I know that to be a fact.

Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Rant #3,908: Elected



Anarchy in New York City ...

Even though the Hamas groupie's mayoralty is just beginning, it is time to think about who should run against him, and his anti-Semitic ideology, when his term expires.
And I have the perfect candidate, one that would satisfy both Democrats and Republicans ... even though this person is a Democrat!

The candidate's name is Jessica Tisch, the current police commissioner.

She has a well-rounded background in city government, and she served under both Mayor Adams and the current mayor, the latter of whom was advised to rehire her as part of his administration because of her cross-party popularity.

If she ran, she would have the support of most of the major unions in New York City--less the teachers' union, which has become so left wing as to defy belief--and she is popular among the citizens of the city.

She would not have to run under the Democratic banner; leave that to her current boss, and she could run as an Independent.

I do believe that at this point in time, she might be the only person who could actually beat the current mayor.

And I believe that Democrats and Republicans alike would vote for her.

Tisch for Mayor!

Let me be the first one to suggest it ...

Although I realize that I am probably not the first person to think that she would be perfect for this job.

I know some of you are going to laugh and shake their heads at all of this, but let me remind you, sometimes I know what I am talking about.

Whether you are a fan of his or not, I was one of the first people to bring up the possibility that Donald Trump--then real estate baron and TV star, nothing more--might run for president of our country.

I said that way back in 2013 or 2014 or so ...

But I also said later on that after he lost to Joe Biden, he would never be elected President again.

Shows what I know.

However, I will stand by my choice of Tisch until the opposition to the current mayor comes up with a better candidate--

Which they won't.

They certainly didn't with Cuomo and Sliwa this time around, so do you expect anyone better?

Not me.

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Rant #3,907: Waiting For An Alibi



As much as I don't want to talk about what is happening in the Middle East, I feel that I must say something.

What I am going to say is pretty short and to the point, but it is the way I feel about this.

Let me begin by saying that I back our country, and our President--the one that I did not vote for but someone I accept as our nation's commander in chief--1,000 percent in this war.

Iran was getting to powerful, too brazen in what it had in its stockpile, and was a threat to not only the Middle East, but to everyone worldwide.

Iranians the world over applauded what our country did--and what Israel did too--to try to make things right there, and sure, there were other Iranians who backed the-then current regime, but funny, most of them that I saw and heard spout their phony rhetoric actually lived outside of Iran.

Anyway, we and Israel went in there, obliterated much of the country, yet they still come at us.

These people are crazy. They don't care about dying, because they feel that they will be looked at as martyrs if they perish.

Their ways are not Western, their ideology is not anything that we can comprehend in the modern world.

So this war isn't going to take a week or two or three to finalize.

It might take not days, weeks, or months, but years.

We are dealing with a different enemy here, and they fight--and die--differently than we do.

Here is where I am going to make a statement that will rile some people, but I do believe others will support it--

And believe me, I hate to say what I have to say, but I have to do so.

Here goes--

The war against Iran ... It will only come to an end when other Arab countries, as well as our so-called allies worldwide--join Israel and the U.S. in this war, and when we at least attempt to negotiate a settlement off of the battlefield. 

The other Arab countries' reluctance to fully join us in this battle simply demonstrates that they would rather be attacked by Iran than side with those looking to make the Middle East a safe place. 

It also demonstrates that once an Arab, always an Arab, when it comes to Israel, and they cannot be trusted. 

Look at Qatar. They are supposed to be a moderate country, but they have Hamas officials living and working there. 

And people tend to forget, but Saudi Arabians perpetrated 9/11. 

Our allies ... they need to do something to assist us. They know that this initiative is a right one, but as the President said, there have been no response.

Sounds of silence often speak louder than words do.

That is the reality, and until everyone understands that, this isn't going to end so soon. 

I am sorry to say this, but it is true.

And if that doesn't sink in yet, it will ...

Believe me, it will, if it hasn't already done so.

Expect prices to go sky high on everything--

I foresee gas will go past $4 a gallon, maybe even higher than that.

Certain stations in California are selling gas at more than $8 a gallon ... already.

Expect to pay more for everything, groceries, and I mean, everything.

Thinking this way, is it worth fighting this war?

Yes, I think it is, but the President stating it will only last a few days or weeks ...

God, I hope he is right--

But I simply can't see it, at least at this point in time.

So get on your seat belts, I believe we are going to need them.

And I hope, really hope, that I am wrong in all of this.

But I don't see a united front in the Middle East, I don't see our allies joining the fight, and until and unless those supposedly moderate countries put their collective tails between their legs and admit that we--and primarily Israel--are on the right side here, this might be the most difficult war this country will ever fight.

And again, I really hope that I am wrong in everything I just said.

Until then, I support this war ... but I simply believe that in general, people are tiring of it, and it will become an unpopular exercise not because it isn't the right thing to do, but because it is hitting average Americans where it hurts the most--

And when your pocketbook hurts, very little else matters.

Monday, March 16, 2026

Rant #3,906: All By Myself



A lot of information has come out recently about New York City Mayor Mamdani's lovely wife, who has put up dozens of likes regarding the Oct. 7 massacre of Jews and now, has supplied artwork for an essay authored by someone who also glowed about this massacre, calling it "spectacular."

Funny, nary a word from anyone standing up to this hate, and the mayor, himself, backed his wife, who he said is a "private person."

Where is the news media covering this?

The same place that they are when it was discovered that the mayor was hosting a dinner where one of the invitees was the leader of the Columbia University anti-Jew, anti-Israel and anti-Semitic protests last year.

Nowhere to be found.

Back to the Misses ...
Could you imagine, God forbid, if her direction was against people of color? People would be in such an uproar that her husband would be forced to resign his post as mayor.

And the media would be on top of this like a bee with honey.
But since it is against Jews, it is pretty much brushed aside as if it really doesn't matter.
Hate is wrong, period, and this woman shows no bounds.
And since she is New York City's "First Lady," her behavior is reprehensible ... but anyone with a brain--not too many people in New York City, obviously, including the imbecile Jews who voted for her husband--knew that this was going to happen when her husband was elected.
You get who you vote for, and city voters are among the most ignorant and quite frankly, most stupid voters on the planet. They would have voted for Hitler if he was on the Democratic ticket.
And Governor Hochul is no better, supporting this trash during his mayoral run and thus, his anti-Semitic behavior.
But again, you get who you vote for, but why are Jews treated on a different level than other minorities when it comes to hate?

Mamdani's lovely wife follows a pattern of New York City First Ladies who are kind of strange, to say the least.

Let's look at some of them.

Mayor Adams wasn't married when he held his office, but he had been married in the past. You might remember that when he was elected, there was some controversy that didn't last too long that he wasn't even in New York City most of the time prior to winning the mayor's race, and that he had been shacking up with some lady in New Jersey for quite a long time.

Mayor deBlasio was supposedly married to a self-proclaimed lesbian who he fathered two kids with. His wife got into government through him, and supposedly squandered millions of dollars in funds. Once he was out of Gracie Mansion, his wife dumped him.

Mayor Bloomberg had been married but wasn't during his time in office, and you might remember that when reporters asked him about his personal life, he told them that his life was his own, and not to bother him on the weekends, when he was supposedly out of the city and was breaking bread with some woman who was never identified.

Mayor Giuliani was married to Donna Hanover, a former TV reporter, but she accused him of infidelity and divorced him, and quite frankly, he has had several relationships with other women, and they have never spoken kindly about him.

Mayor Dinkins had the most stable of the marriages of any recent mayor, and he and his wife were together for more than 60 years.

Mayor Koch was never married, although he was linked to Bess Myerson, but many people said that this was simply a cover for his actual sexuality, which was not homosexual, but non-sexual ... that is what was said about him, if you want to believe it.

Mayors Beame, Lindsay and Wagner all had stable marriages--although Lindsay was linked to numerous other women during his mayoralty, including Florence Henderson of "The Brady Bunch"--and that is as far back as I can go.

So Mamdani's wife is simply following a recent line of New York City First Ladies who are kind of odd.

Maybe it is a prerequisite for the job ... I don't know ...

But the difference with Mamdani's wife is that her strangeness is fueled by blatant anti-Semitism--

And this is with her husband governing, and responsible for, the second largest Jewish population in the world, behind only Israel.

All of this nonsense has come out in only her husband's first three months of being mayor, so you just know that we will find out plenty more about the two Hamas groupies who live in Gracie Mansion in the months, and years, ahead.

Read this:
https://jewishjournal.com/commentary/columnist/387502/an-open-letter-to-first-lady-of-new-york-city/?fbclid=IwY2xjawQjp0xleHRuA2FlbQIxMABicmlkETF2enJ2WHd2QXJmclU2RHdEc3J0YwZhcHBfaWQQMjIyMDM5MTc4ODIwMDg5MgABHoowdz_BLJup3CaVFgcpVZU4SMrbYIMqu2nlZss4KNTjCl8mtK7wMzckGBXS_aem_L3hmeYS6_r4ZEXgMOd7vQQ